x
Dartmouth-Hitchcock logo
Taking Care In This Section

FAQ: Secure Access

This page contains frequently asked questions about Secure Access.

Q: What is Secure Access?

A: Secure Access allows you to connect to various Dartmouth-Hitchcock computer resources when you are not in the office.

Q: When would I use Secure Access?

A: There may be times when you need to check your email, or engage in other work activities when you are away from the office. Secure Access allows you to run various D-H computer programs and access D-H files when you are not in the office, in a way that does not compromise the organization's commitment to privacy and security.

Q: What is a "managed" computer/device?

A: A managed computer/device is a standard, work-issued computer/device that: 

  • was purchased and issued to you by Dartmouth-Hitchcock 
  • is managed and maintained by Dartmouth-Hitchcock User Support.
  • has a sticker on it with a unique D-H device ID

Q: What is an "unmanaged" computer/device?

A: An un-managed computer/device is a computer/device that:

  • was not purchased and issued to you by Dartmouth-Hitchcock
  • is not managed or maintained by D-H User Support
  • does not have a sticker on it with a unique D-H device ID

Q: What programs/items can I get to with Secure Access?

When you connect to the Dartmouth-Hitchcock network using Secure Access, you can use the following resources:

  • CIS (Clinical Information System)
  • eD-H test server (Playground)
  • Your email (Outlook)
  • Employee Self-Service
  • eTime
  • eLearning
  • Microsoft Office, which includes Excel, PowerPoint, and Word
  • Utilities and My Files, which includes your network drives (H and I drives)
  • Intranet
  • Your SharePoint sites
  • Terminal Systems, which includes DH1, DH8i, DH11i, and DH9i
  • IDX Scheduling Framework

 Additional resources are being added all the time

Q: What programs/items will I be unable to use with Secure Access?

A: We are working to include more programs in Secure Access. At the current time, you will be unable to access the following programs:

  • Most Kerberos web applications
  • No My Page
  • No HDRS
  • No ImageCast

Additional resources are being added all the time.

Q: Will I need to install software on my computer in order to use Secure Access?

A: If you are using a work-issued computer or device, you do not need to install anything. Simply go to http://dhapps.hitchcock.org/ to login. Get login directions. If you are using a personal computer or any device that is not managed by D-H User Support, you will need to install a plug-in before using Secure Access for the first time.

Q: How do I install Secure Access?

A: If you are using a work-issued computer or device, you do not need to install anything. Simply go to http://dhapps.hitchcock.org/ to login. Get login directions. If you are using a personal computer or any device that is not managed by D-H User Support, you will need to install a plug-in before using Secure Access for the first time.

Q: Will I be able to use Secure Access on a Macintosh computer?

A: Dartmouth-Hitchcock applications are designed to work on Windows operating systems. D-H is unable to provide support for D-H applications on Macintosh computers. However, there is a Secure Access plug-in that you can use on a personal Macintosh computer or device. Learn more.

Q: Will applications be slower via Secure Access than if they were installed on my computer?

A: Most applications will run faster using Secure Access than directly installed on a PCs. It takes a few seconds to launch the first application or service from the Secure Access launch window. Subsequent applications launch instantly. Dial-up users will notice significant improvements in performance once the applications are opened.

Q: Can I use Secure Access open and change documents on my H:, I:, and J: drives?

A: Yes you will be able to access your H:, I: and J: drives. However, you will need to mount them in your Secure Access launch window one time. See Accessing your H and I drives.

Q: In the Secure Access window there are two options, disconnect and Log-off. What is the difference?

A: Logoff closes all applications. If you "disconnect" your application sessions will remain open, but the Secure Access window will close. When you reconnect, your session will start up where you disconnected last.

Q: What about VPN? I currently use VPN (virtual private network) to connect to the D-H network when I am out of the office. Can I still use VPN?

A: We encourage all employees to use Secure Access instead of VPN. Please contact User Support if you have additional questions about VPN.

Q: I have so many logins to remember. Will I need a new login and password to use Secure Access?

A: No. Secure Access uses your Windows username and password to authenticate you. This is the same login you would use to get into Outlook Web Access or eTime.

Contact Us

0